I Must Become A Lion Hearted Girl

i must become a lion hearted girl, ready for a fight
strength is a funny thing. these songs aren’t necessarily about needing strength, but they are by strong female voices and experiences that have brought them strength. i’m sure we’ve all experienced a few of these situations, felt those emotions. and in the end, you become a little bit stronger. “you never tell me what it is that makes you strong/and what it is that makes you weak” marina & the diamonds. “i could disappoint you slowly but surely.”kat flint. and the title of this mix is from the beautiful song “rabbit heart (raise it up)” by florence & the machine. the musical genres here range, offering a diversity i think you kids should check out. i am a sucker for the female voice and i personally really like this mix. 🙂 if you’d like to learn more about these extremely underrated artists, (and sample songs before you get this mix) check my blog.

get the rar

01 The Like- June Gloom
02 Mates of State- The Re-Arranger
03 Laura Marling-  My Manic And I
04 Kat Flint- Anticlimax
05 Elizabeth & The Catapult- Momma’s Boy
06 Florence & The Machine- Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)
07 Fiona Apple- A Better Version Of Me
08 Maria & The Diamonds- Obsessions
09 Sierra Swan- Dr. LoveBoy
10 Anouk- Ball And Chain
11 Thomas Tantrum- Pshandy
12 Cassie Steele- Pavement
13 Girl In A Coma- Race Car Driver
14 Controller.Controller- silent seven
15 Pretty Girls Make Graves- Chemical, Chemical
16 The Asteroids Galaxy Tour- Around The Bend
17 V.V Brown- Crying Blood
18 Ellie Golding- Starry Eyed
19 Mozella- You Wanted It
20 Ellem- This Is Alright
21 Kate Nash- Dickhead
22 Polly Scattergood- Please Don’t Touch

5 Responses to “I Must Become A Lion Hearted Girl”


  1. 1 Siobhan July 30, 2009 at 6:47 am

    I listed to this mix this afternoon and I’d only heard of a handful of the artists before so I decided to give it a go. I absolutely love it. Thank you so much!

  2. 2 Shay August 4, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Quite a few artists I haven’t heard of, so I’m downloading to try. Thank you! =)

  3. 3 Miss Tami August 4, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    I absolutely love this mix, thank you 🙂

  4. 4 Samuel Preveda August 8, 2009 at 1:19 am

    I love these! Thank you!


  1. 1 Haven’t posted in a while « shock of love. Trackback on February 14, 2013 at 8:38 am

Leave a comment




SHOCK OF LOVE

Hi. This is a place where I post mixtapes for my wonderful friends. Somehow this blog has survived for 5 years.

DISCLAIMER

24-hour use only ;)

OTHER STUFF.

If you guys want to request something, do so on the request tab. And if you like it, comment & let me know or how else will I bloody know you like it? Svp?

Blog Stats

  • 385,116 hits